FREE SHIPPING On Orders Over $9.99

Christmas Stories: Repeat The Sounding Joy

SKU:  2711182

Recorded by: Jason Gray

  • Online Only

NOTE: CD ON DEMAND items are created in-house at the time of purchase. While the artwork on the CD will differ from the original product, the media on the CD is identical. On Demand CDs will play in any standard CD player. Sorry, CD on Demand Items Are Non-Refundable. Click here to learn more about CD on Demand.

Please select all the options above to add to your cart.

Out of Stock - Email me when this product is available

This product is only available in Mardel stores.
View Mardel Store Locations
This product is for display only and cannot be purchased.


1. Oh Come All Ye Faithful(00:01:15)
2. Christmas Is Coming(00:03:41)
3. O Little Town of Bethlehem(00:01:02)
4. Rest (The Song of the Innkeeper)(00:03:41)
5. Ave Maria (The Song for Mary)(00:04:19)
6. Forgiveness Is a Miracle (A Song for Joseph) / Man of Mercy(00:05:33)
7. Gloria! (The Song of the Shepherds)(00:03:49)
8. O Holy Night(00:03:56)
9. Easier (The Song of the Wiseman)(00:03:42)
10. I Will Find a Way (The Song of Emmanuel)(00:04:49)
11. Christmas for Jesus(00:01:18)
12. Children Again(00:03:54)
13. Joy to the World(00:03:24)

Product Overview

Street Date: 10/09/2012
Jason Gray talks about Christmas Stories: Repeat The Sounding Joy When I decided to do a Christmas record I wondered what it would be like—what kind of Christmas record I could get really excited about? And I thought about a Gray Christmas tradition that involves one of my favorite books by one of my favorite authors: “Beyond Words” by Frederick Buechner, a kind of dictionary/encyclopedia of religious words and characters that come to new life under Buechner’s observant eye. Every year I pull the book off the shelf and look up each of the characters who make an appearance in the Christmas story, and every year I’m so moved by the humanity of these people who find themselves unexpectedly caught up in the middle of The Greatest Story Ever Told. So I set out to write and record a collection of Christmas songs based on the individual characters in the story. As I got deeper into the story and the characters, though, I found myself in an intense narrative peopled with characters in the midst of great drama and crisis! The young girl who carries the secret of angels; the heartbroken young man whose fiancé is pregnant with another’s baby (will he forgive her when it’s in his power to ruin her?); the wisemen with their gifts of gold (will they give the child what he desires most, the gift of themselves?); the harried innkeeper so overwhelmed with his work that it’s hard for him to recognize the wonder on his doorstep that would make him whole. Yet there is great joy in the midst of this sober drama, too: the exuberance of the shepherds, wide-eyed and breathless the moment after the angels split the sky with their chorus. They are running into town with Gloria! still ringing in their ears—not entirely sure where they’re going, but what is there to do but run!—to see the newborn King. And of course there is the child himself who will make us children again and heal the world with joy.

Product Details

Weight (lb) 0.2
Width (in) 5.5
Length (in) 5
Height (in) 0.4
Product Format Burn On Demand
Label Imprint (C) 2012 Centricity Music
Subject Category Christmas
Number of Songs 13
Label EMI CMG Distribution
Playing Time 00:44:23
UPC 829619118421

Retrieving reviews...

Write a Review

  • Review Title

  • Product Being Reviewed

  • Your Review

    • Give your honest opinion.
    • Review your grammar and spelling before submitting your review.
    • Consider how your review may help other shoppers make the right purchase.
  • Your Name


Review Tips

Mardel guidelines for writing a review

  • Be thorough and concise.
  • How did the product perform?
  • Did it meet your expectations?

Reviews submitted to are moderated. Acceptable review will appear on the site in 3-5 days. Thank you