Free Shipping on Orders $75 or More

15 Down Home Gospel Classics

SKU:  2293587

Recorded by: Various Artists

  • Online Only

NOTE: CD ON DEMAND items are created in-house at the time of purchase. While the artwork on the CD will differ from the original product, the media on the CD is identical. On Demand CDs will play in any standard CD player. Sorry, CD on Demand Items Are Non-Refundable. Click here to learn more about CD on Demand.

Please select all the options above to add to your cart.

Out of Stock - Email me when this product is available

This product is only available in Mardel stores.
View Mardel Store Locations
This product is for display only and cannot be purchased.


1. Just A Closer Walk With Thee(00:03:44)
2. There's A Leak In This Old Bui(00:01:55)
3. I Want My Crown(00:02:20)
4. Sinner Don't You Know(00:04:33)
5. I Feel Good(00:03:54)
6. I'm Going Over The Hill(00:02:43)
7. Gonna Wait Till A Change Come(00:02:43)
8. Farther Along(00:04:58)
9. I've Got Religon(00:02:13)
10. Motherless Children(00:02:44)
11. Jesus Will Fix It For You(00:04:19)
12. I'm Working On A Building(00:03:50)
13. Keep Your Lamp Trimmed And Bur(00:03:40)
14. Amazing Grace(00:01:47)
15. Praise Music(00:04:21)

Product Overview

Street Date: 01/25/2011
For blues fans reluctant to dip themselves in the water, this gritty sampler of gospel is just what the preacher ordered. Culled from Arhoolie Records' rich catalog, these 15 tracks let one appreciate the relevance of gospel to the blues and get to know a lot of fine artists in the process. No blow-dried Christian rockers here: important blues guitarists like Mississippi Fred McDowell and Mance Lipscomb perform acoustic spirituals as raw as the Delta itself. Sacred steel guitarists Aubrey Ghent and Sonny Treadway work the congregation into a righteous fervor with their ethereal jamming. And as for singing His praises, the harmonies of the Paramount Singers and the booming voice of Katie Jackson on "I Feel Good" more than suffice. But when it comes to raising the roof, no one matches the primitive electric church gospel of Reverend Louis Overstreet. Hallelujah!

Product Details

Weight (lb) 0.2
Width (in) 5.5
Length (in) 5
Height (in) 0.4
Product Format Burn On Demand
Label Imprint (C) 1997 Arhoolie Productions Inc.
Subject Category Gospel
Number of Songs 15
Label Word Entertainment
Playing Time 00:00:00
UPC 096297011164

Retrieving reviews...

Write a Review

  • Review Title

  • Product Being Reviewed

  • Your Review

    • Give your honest opinion.
    • Review your grammar and spelling before submitting your review.
    • Consider how your review may help other shoppers make the right purchase.
  • Your Name


Review Tips

Mardel guidelines for writing a review

  • Be thorough and concise.
  • How did the product perform?
  • Did it meet your expectations?

Reviews submitted to are moderated. Acceptable review will appear on the site in 3-5 days. Thank you