FREE SHIPPING* on orders of $75 or more

Skip to content Skip to navigation
Uncached Time = Sun Dec 09 19:45:01 CST 2018
Cached Time = Sun Dec 09 19:40:28 CST 2018
30% off one item at regular price Get Coupon

Judges and Ruth: God in Chaos, Preaching The Word Series, by Barry G. Webb and R. Kent Hughes

$32.99 $26.39
  • Author: Barry G. Webb
  • Editor: R. Kent Hughes

SKU: 3374717

The book of Judges powerfully demonstrates the chaos that can arise when sin reigns in people’s hearts. In contrast, the book of Ruth offers a message of redemption and hope following disorder. Set in a time when everyone “did what was right in his own eyes,” both books work together to highlight God’s faithfulness in the midst of Israel's disobedience.
Exploring the stories of figures such as Gideon, Samson, Naomi, and Ruth, this accessible commentary emphasizes the countless ways God protected and preserved his people in the Bible. Experienced preacher Barry Webb explores important connections between Judges and Ruth, reminding us of God’s promises to his people and offering practical applications for daily life—pointing us toward the hope of the coming King of kings, Jesus Christ.
Part of the Preaching the Word series.
Chapters include:
- After Joshua: The Legacy of a Great Leader (1:1–21)
- Judgment Day: What Went Wrong? (1:22—2:5)
- Losing Our Children: “Another Generation . . . Who Did Not Know the Lord” (2:6–15)
- The Program (2:16—3:6)
- Othniel: A Model Savior (3:7–11)
- Ehud: Holy Laughter (3:12–30)
- Shamgar: The Man from Nowhere (3:31)
- Barak: Captain Lightning (4:1–24)
- Singing (5:1–31, First Reflection)
- Mothers (5:1–31, Second Reflection)
- Mavericks (5:1–31, Third Reflection)
- Gideon: The Making of a Leader (6:1—8:3)
- Gideon: Self-Destruction (8:4–35)
- Abimelech: The Son from Hell (8:29—9:57)
- First Interlude: Tola and Jair (10:1–5)
- Jephthah: The Negotiator (10:6—12:7)
- Second Interlude: Ibzan, Elon, and Abdon (12:8–15)
- Samson: The Savior No One Asked For (13:1–25)
- Samson: Saint and Sinner (14:1—16:31)
- Religious Chaos: Micah and His Idols (17:1—18:31)
- Moral Chaos: The Levite and His Concubine (19:1—21:25)
- Emptiness: Going Away and Coming Back (1:1–22)
- Seeking: The Kindness of God (2:1–23)
- Finding: The Promise of Rest (3:1–18)
- Fullness: Four Redeemers (4:1–22)
Sale Type 20% Off Books
Media Type Book
Weight (lb) 1.2
Width (in) 6.5
Length (in) 9.25
Height (in) 1
Binding Type Hardcover
Series Preaching the Word
Publisher Crossway
Pages 304
EAN 3374717

Binding Type

Out of stock

Send me an email when it's back in stock.


Be the first to write a review.

50 characters maximum 50 characters remaining

255 characters maximum 255 characters remaining

25 characters maximum 25 characters remaining

Review writing tips

Help other shoppers make informed decisions by reviewing your purchase.

    We'd love to know:
  • Whether you liked or disliked the product.
  • Which specific features you liked or disliked, and why.
    Please do not include:
  • Profanity or obscenities.
  • Advertisements.
  • Links to other websites.

For questions or concerns regarding recent orders or product availability, please contact us.